Medical devices (Dir. 90/385/EEC and 93/42/EEC , Reg (EU) 2017/745)

With the entry into force of the new regulation in May 2017, the area of medical devices is undergoing a massive change. The overall level of requirements has significantly increased and compliance with the general safety requirements remains a crucial point in the development and marketing of medical devices.

The evaluation of biocompatibility is one of the key steps to prove the biological safety of medical devices in a standard context that is more restrictive. 

EquiTox supports you in the biological evaluation process in accordance with the biocompatibility requirements and the current ISO 10993 standards.

1- Evaluation of the biocompatibility of medical devices
Critical analysis of the chemical characterisation results
You have completed and documented the composition, description, manufacturing and use of your medical device and established its classification. Based on the analysis of the results of the preliminary stage of characterisation of the material (ISO 10993-18 and ISO 10993-9, 13, 14 and 15), we carry out a complete bibliographic search (with use of your historical data if available ) and establish the allowable limits for leachable substances according to the current ISO 10993-17 standard. We can deliver you a detailed report with a conclusion on the outcome of the analysis and in particular the possibility or not of adressing the potential risks identified.
Identification of data gaps and establishment of a testing programme
If at the end of the analysis of the chemical characterisation results, it is concluded that potential risks are not controlled, we proceed to the identification of the missing data necessary for the biological safety analysis and establish a biological testing programme based on the ISO 10993-1 and ISO 14971 standards.
Follow-up of biocompatibility tests according to ISO 10993 standards
Based on the testing programme established in the previous step, we manage the follow-up of your studies from the selection of the testing laboratory to the analysis of the results and the validation of the final report. We guarantee that the specificities of your device will be taken into account at all stages of the process. EquiTox undertakes to report to you the results and the progress of the tests according to your needs and to technical requirements.
Analysis and overall conclusion on biological safety
We analyse all the available data (your historical data and bibliographic data) as well as the results of the biocompatibility tests carried out, in order to draw an overall conclusion on the biological safety of your device. This conclusion is directly related to the conclusions of the initial risk analysis that has been updated with the results of the new tests (ISO 10993-1).
Writing and validation of the Biological Evaluation Reports
Our dedicated toxicologist experts assist you in the writing of biological evaluation reports or carry out the evaluation of the reports you have written.
2- Expertise in Toxicology
Support on biocompatibility issues
We provide support throughout the development of your products (from the R&D phase to the placing on the market) on issues related to toxicity (biocompatibility):

  • Bibliographic searches
  • Establishment of toxicological profiles
  • Interpretation of biocompatibility testing results
  • Analysis of non-compliant results and support for the identification of possible causes
3- Training courses
Toxicology applied to medical devices
You are concerned by the evaluation of the safety of medical devices and you need to better understand the biocompatibility of materials, we provide training ranging from basic concepts in toxicology to the study of practical cases.
The fundamentals of the REACh regulation to anticipate the impact on the medical device area
As manufacturers of medical devices, you are impacted by the REACh regulation via the chemicals you use in your processes (manufacturing, cleaning, etc.). We provide training to understand the REACh regulation in order to determine its impact on your business. The notions of restriction and authorisation are particularly critical. Understanding the content of safety data sheets and the interpretation of hazards in relation to a medical device use is also a major concern.
For more information

Keywords: , , , , , ,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Dispositifs médicaux (Dir. No 90/385/CEE et 93/42/CEE, Reg (UE) 2017/745)

La réglementation du dispositif médical vit actuellement sa révolution avec l'entrée en vigueur du nouveau réglement en mai 2017. Le niveau global des exigences est nettement augmenté et le respect des exigences générales de sécurité reste un point crucial des processus de développement et de mise sur le marché des dispositifs médicaux. 

L'évaluation de la biocompatibilité est une des étapes clés pour prouver la sécurité biologique des dispositifs médicaux dans un contexte normatif plus strict.

EquiTox vous accompagne dans la démarche de l’évaluation biologique conformément aux exigences de biocompatibilité et aux normes ISO 10993 en vigueur.

1- Evaluation de la biocompatibilité des dispositifs médicaux
Analyse critique des résultats de la caractérisation chimique
Vous avez réalisé et documenté la composition, description, fabrication et l’utilisation de votre dispositif médical et établi sa classification. A partir de l’analyse des résultats de l’étape préliminaire de caractérisation du matériau (ISO 10993-18 et ISO 10993-9, 13, 14 et 15), nous réalisons une recherche bibliographique complète (avec utilisation de vos données historiques si disponibles) et établissons les limites admissibles pour les substances relargables selon la norme ISO 10993-17 en vigueur. Un rapport détaillé avec une conclusion sur l’issue de l’analyse et en particulier sur la possibilité ou non de répondre aux risques potentiels identifés vous sera remis.
Identification des données manquantes et établissement d’un programme de tests
Si à l’issue de l’étape d’analyse des résultats de la caractérisation chimique, il est conclu que des risques potentiels ne sont pas maîtrisés, nous procédons à l’identification des données manquantes nécessaires à l’analyse de la sécurité biologique et établissons un programme de tests biologiques basé sur les normes ISO 10993-1 et ISO 14971.
Suivi des tests de biocompatibilité selon les normes ISO 10993
Suivant le programme de tests établi à l’étape précédente, nous prenons en charge le suivi de vos études depuis le choix du laboratoire jusqu’à l’analyse des résultats et la validation du rapport final. Nous vous garantissons que les spécificités de votre dispositif seront prises en compte à toutes les étapes du processus. EquiTox s’engage à vous rendre compte des résultats et du déroulement des essais en fonction de vos besoins et des nécessités techniques.
Analyse et conclusion globale sur la sécurité biologique
Nous analysons l’ensemble des données disponibles (vos données historiques et les données bibliographiques) ainsi que les résultats des tests de biocompatibilité réalisés, afin d’établir une conclusion sur la sécurité biologique globale de votre dispositif. Cette conclusion est en lien direct avec les conclusions de l’analyse de risques initiale qui aura été mise à jour avec les résultats des nouveaux tests (ISO 10993-1).
Rédaction et validation des Rapports d’Evaluation Biologique
Nos experts toxicologues dédiés vous accompagnent dans la rédaction des rapports d’évaluation biologique ou se chargent d’évaluer les rapports que vous avez rédigés.
2- Expertise en Toxicologie
Support sur des problématiques de biocompatibilité
Nous vous accompagnons tout au long du développement de vos produits (depuis la phase de R&D jusqu’à la mise sur le marché) sur des questions relatives à la toxicité (biocompatibilité):

  • Recherches bibliographiques
  • Etablissement de profils toxicologiques
  • Interprétation des résultats de tests de biocompatibilité
  • Analyse de résultats non conformes et support à l’identification des causes possibles
3- Formations
Toxicologie appliquée aux dispositifs médicaux
Vous êtes concernés par l’évaluation de la sécurité sanitaire des dispositifs médicaux et vous avez besoin de mieux comprendre la biocompatibilité des matériaux, nous assurons des formations allant des notions fondamentales en toxicologie à l’étude de cas pratiques.
Les fondamentaux du règlement REACh pour anticiper l’impact sur le secteur du dispositif médical
En tant que fabricants de dispositifs médicaux, vous êtes impactés par le réglement REACh via les produits chimiques que vous utilisez dans vos procédés (fabrication, nettoyage, etc). Nous assurons des formations vous permettant de comprendre le règlement REACh afin de pouvoir déterminer son impact sur votre entreprise. Les notions relatives à la restriction et à l’autorisation sont des points particulièrement critiques. La compréhension du contenu des fiches de données de sécurité et l’interprétation des dangers par rapport à un usage dispositif médical est également un point important.
En savoir plus

Mots clés
, , , , , ,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email