Monitoring and support on emerging topics

With the aim to move towards a non-toxic environment, European authorities are focusing on emerging concerns (endocrine disruptors, nanoparticles, persistent substances in the environment) and are working to better assess and regulate chemicals with these properties. Science and regulations on these emerging concerns are evolving quickly.

EquiTox is used to maintaining a high level of training, information and expertise on emerging concerns. We can provide technical and regulatory monitoring and help you to anticipate the impact of these advances on your markets and strategies.

1- Endocrine disrupting chemicals (EDCs)
Evaluation of the endocrine disrupting(ED) character of chemicals
EDs are a major and complex issue for both health and the environment. Recent developments in the assessment methods developed by the authorities are forcing manufacturers and users of chemical substances to be increasingly proactive in order to ensure the sustainability of their product portfolios.
Equitox uses its expertise to evaluate the ED character of your chemicals. We collect and analyze, based on the weight of evidence, all the relevant toxicological and ecotoxicological data to identify the adverse effect(s) and to assess whether the toxicological mode of action is an ED-one.
Testing strategy to characterize the potential endocrine disrupting (ED) properties of a substance
The assessment of the ED properties of a substance may require the acquisition of new data in order to strenghten the weight of evidence approach and enable you to come to a decision on the ED character.
EquiTox provides its expertise in toxicology and ecotoxicology to develop an integrated testing strategy, using an approach recognized by authorities for EATS (Estrogen-Androgen-Thyroid-Steroidogenic) modes of action, and identify laboratories capable of conducting these complex studies.
Training courses on endocrine disrupting (ED) concerns.
EquiTox’s experts offer tailor-made training on the properties and mechanisms that govern the action of EDs (health / environment), as well as on the current regulatory framework applicable to their detection, evaluation and management.
2- PBT, vPvB et PMT
PBT/vPvB assessment
The PBT/vPvB criteria may lead to the identification of Substances of Very High Concern (SVHC), potentially eligible for REACh authorisation or Biocide (BPR) exclusion/substitution. PBT/vPvB assessment is then a crucial and critical step for the futur of your substances. We gather all useful data (on the substances, the analogs, the QSARs predictions) to result in a PBT/vPvB diagnosis of your substances, and warn you about critical properties, if necessary.
Regulatory and technical monitoring
The criteria for PBT/vPvB identification do not embrace all substances that may pose an important and long-term risk to the environment and human health. Furthermore, new criteria are being developed (PMT, Persistent, Mobile and Toxic), and more broadly Europe would like very persistant substances to be further explored. We can ensure a technical survey on these emerging subjects by analysing the issues, by identifying the potential impacts on your product portofolio and by advising you on your development strategies.
3- Case studies
Endocrine Disruptors (EDs): An emerging concern for supposedly well-known chemicals
Identification and evaluation of endocrine disrupting properties of chemicals are becoming a growing subject of interest in the EU, for citizens, policy makers, Authorities and Industry.
Legal and Technical frameworks are better known with the recent publication of the Delegated Regulations for the BPR (Reg (EU) No 528/2012) and the PPPR (Reg (EC) No 1107/2009) and the subsequent ECHA/EFSA Guidance Documents. Considering this documentation together with the OECD conceptual framework, EQUITOX offers a full range package for Industry.
First of all, one key point is to temper the debate. To that end, experts from EQUITOX provide training based on the science and its legal interpretation. Most of the chemicals currently catching the attention of regulators are characterised by a well-known conventional (eco)toxicological profile. The available historical data has to be correctly interpreted in order to determine if an ED effect can be suspected. Based on this preliminary evaluation, advice on the strategy is provided based on testing and non-testing methods, keeping the main target in mind: an ED is characterised by an ED mode of action with related adverse effects.
This approach has been applied by EQUITOX for both environmental/human health suspected EDs, in the framework of REACH (SVHC, Art. 57(f)) and the BPR.
For more information

Keywords: , , , , , , , , , ,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Veille et accompagnement sur les sujets émergents

Au travers de son engagement à aller vers un environnement non toxique, l'Europe s'attache à mettre en lumière et à travailler les thématiques émergentes tout en poursuivant le développement des connaissances sur les polluants les plus à risques pour mieux les réglementer. Les perturbateurs endocriniens, les nanoparticules, les substances persistantes dans l'environnement... sont autant de sujets sur lesquels la science et la réglementation évoluent vite.

EquiTox met tous les moyens en œuvre pour maintenir un haut niveau de formation, d’information et d’expertise sur les sujets émergents. Nous pouvons assurer une veille technique et réglementaire et vous aider à anticiper les impacts de ces nouvelles avancées sur vos marchés et vos stratégies.

1- Perturbateurs endocriniens (PEs)
Evaluation du caractère perturbateur endocrinien (PE) d’une substance
Les PE constituent un problème majeur et complexe pour la santé et l’environnement. Les récentes évolutions des méthodes d’évaluation développées par les autorités contraignent les fabricants et utilisateurs de substances chimiques à toujours plus d’anticipation pour garantir la pérennité de leur portefeuille de produits.
EquiTox met à profit son expertise pour évaluer le caractère PE de vos substances. Nous collectons et analysons, sur base du poids de la preuve, toutes les données toxicologiques et écotoxicologiques pertinentes permettant d’identifier le(s) effet(s) néfaste(s) et d’évaluer si le mode d’action toxicologique est de type PE.
Stratégie de tests pour caractériser le potentiel perturbateur endocrinien (PE)
L’évaluation du caractère PE d’une substance chimique peut nécessiter d’acquérir de nouvelles données pour permettre de statuer sur ce caractère selon un poids de la preuve robuste. EquiTox vous propose son expertise toxicologique et écotoxicologique pour élaborer une stratégie de tests selon une approche reconnue par les autorités pour les hypothèses de mode d’action de type EATS (Estrogenic – Androgenic – Thyroidian – Steroidogenic), et identifier les laboratoires en capacité de conduire ces études complexes.
Formations sur les perturbateurs endocriniens (PE)
Les experts d’EquiTox vous proposent des formations à la carte sur les propriétés et les mécanismes qui régissent l’action des PE (santé/environnement), ainsi que sur le cadre réglementaire actuel applicable à leur detection, évaluation et gestion.
2- PBT, vPvB et PMT
Evaluation PBT/vPvB
Les critères PBT et vPvB peuvent conduire à l’identification des substances hautement préoccupantes (SVHC) potentiellement éligibles à l’autorisation REACH ou à l’exclusion/substitution biocide (BPR) . L’évaluation PBT/vPvB est donc une étape cruciale et déterminante pour l’avenir de vos substances. Nous collectons toutes les données utiles (sur les substances, les analogues, les prédictions QSAR) pour aboutir à un diagnostic PBT/vPvB de vos substances et vous alerter, si nécessaire, sur les propriétés critiques.
Veille réglementaire et technique
Les critères utilisés pour détecter les PBT ou vPvB ne couvrent pas l’ensemble des substances pouvant présenter un risque important à long-terme pour l’environnement et la santé humaine. De nouveaux critères sont par ailleurs en cours de développement (PMT, Persistant Mobile et Toxique), et plus globalement l’Europe voudrait que les substances très persistantes puissent être mieux étudiées. Nous pouvons mettre en place une veille technique sur ces sujets émergeant en décriptant les enjeux, en identifiant les impacts potentiels sur votre portefeuille produit, et en vous conseillant sur vos stratégies de développement.
3- Etudes de cas
Perturbateurs endocriniens (PE): de nouvelles préoccupations pour des produits chimiques prétendument bien connus
L’identification et l’évaluation des propriétés perturbatrices des fonctions endocriniennes des produits chimiques devient un sujet d’intérêt grandissant au sein de l’UE, tant pour les citoyens, que pour les régulateurs, les Autorités et l’Industrie. Le cadre technique et réglementaire est désormais connu depuis la récente publication des règlements délégués pour le BPR (Reg (EU) No 528/2012) et le PPPR (Reg (EC) No 1107/2009) et les documents guides associés ECHA/EFSA.

Sur base de cette documentation et de l’OECD conceptual framework, EQUITOX offre une gamme complète de prestations en la matière. Le premier point essentiel étant de tempérer le débat. A cette fin, les experts d’EQUITOX dispensent des formations basées sur la science et son interprétation juridique. La plupart des produits chimiques qui captent actuellement l’attention des régulateurs se caractérisent par des profils (éco)toxicologiques bien connus. Les données historiques disponibles doivent être correctement interprétées de façon à déterminer si un effet perturbateur endocrinien peut être suspecté. Sur base de cette première évaluation, des conseils sur la stratégie à adopter sont donnés, considérant aussi bien des méthodes expérimentales que non expérimentales et ce tout en gardant le principal objectif en tête : qu’un perturbateur endocrinien est caractérisé à la fois par un mode d’action PE et des effets négatifs associés.

Cette approche a été appliquée par EQUITOX pour des PE suspectés pour l’environnement et/ou la santé humaine, dans le cadre de REACH (SVHC, Art. 57(f)) et du BPR.

En savoir plus

Mots clés
, , , , , , , , , ,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email