REACh

Applicable since 2007, this European regulation has forced the industrial sector to rethink all practices relating to the production, import and use of chemical substances. From the supply of raw materials to relations with competitors, from the production of data on intrinsic properties to their general dissemination: these new rules require new commercial strategies, new behaviour and new responsibilities.
With more than 100 registration dossiers, EquiTox offers you its skills for:

1- The identification of constraints
Analysis of the portfolio and flows of chemicals
Based on the inventory of substances, tonnage readings and purchases/sales flows, a diagnosis of the constraints imposed by REACh will be proposed.
Definition of the registration strategy
As part of your substance registration process, we inform you of the deadlines to be respected, the competitive environment (SIEF) and the costs you may have to bear.
Regulatory status of your Legal Entity
We help you find the role best suited to your situation and development and sourcing strategy (Lead-registrant, Follower, Only-representative, Third party representative etc.).
2- The creation of technical dossiers
Search for and analysis of existing data
The use of existing data reduces costs and lead times. We search for the elements available and analyse them for you from a scientific, regulatory and commercial perspective.
Determination of the registration strategy
With a view to registering your substance and minimising costs, we establish a testing programme and a roadmap for the creation of the registration dossier.
Generation of missing data
We select for you the studies to be conducted in laboratories with the best quality to price ratio. We closely monitor these studies and inform you of key results as soon as they become available for the creation of the registration dossier.
Creation of the technical dossier (IUCLID)
We compile the technical dossier with your collaboration up to acceptance following the Technical Completeness Check (TCC).
Drafting of the Chemical Safety Report (CSR)
We help you identify the uses of your substance, assess health and environmental risks, help you define risk management measures and the operational conditions combining operational realism and the protection of workers and the environment. We write the Chemical Safety Report (CSR) which must feature in the registration dossier.
3- The administrative management of the registration process
Representation within the SIEFs
EquiTox advises you in your relations with competitors and can act as a Third Party Representative, guaranteeing discretion in the market positioning of your products.
Management of your REACh-IT account
We perform all required operations via the REACh-IT interface on your behalf; we monitor the exchanges within your SIEFs and regularly inform you of events relating to your substances in the form of reports.
What to do after the 31 May 2018 ?
It is important to continue the cooperation in the SIEF in order to answer ECHA’s demands in a concerted way. Cooperation between members is essential during the evaluation process. In that perspective, pay attention to the deadline stipulated in the SIEF agreements, it might be necessary to renew these contracts.
4- Necessary update of your files

REACh did not stop on 31 May 2018. A new cycle is taking place with control reinforcement from January 2019, with the aim of accelerating the updates (according to Art. 22 of REACh).

Why updating your dossiers ?
Be proactive in the update of your dossiers, because if you receive a compliance check decision, you must comply, even if the status of your substance has changed (cessation of activity, reduced volumes, complete versus SCC intermediate registration…).
Identification of the key elements to be updated
European authorities are particularly mindful of the dossier compliance, specifically towards the status of the intermediates under strictly controlled conditions, waivings, read-across justifications… We identify in your files the key elements potentially subject to compliance checks to be able to proceed in an efficient update, thus avoiding that you receive a decision.
How to avoid an evaluation process ?
ECHA regularly proceeds to prioritisation within substances to be evaluated (CoRAP). We can help you in the proactive identification of these substances in your portofolio, combining targeted hazards, volumes, uses. The update of your registrations with more relevant data can prevent a prioritisation of your substances.
Management of the substance identification issues
Substance identification is a central concern for ECHA. If you have registered a UVCB, if you have omitted some impurities, provided insufficient proof for the SIEF “sameness”, or if you have included different hazard profiles in the same dossier, then it is likely that ECHA will come to you with questions. EquiTox have successfully built numerous inquiry dossiers for UVCB. This experience is today at your disposal, from discussion about appropriate analyses to the drafting of the composition into IUCLID.
Check of the strictly controlled status (SCC) of your intermediates
In declaring a strictly controlled status, you have benefited from a reduced registration for your intermediates. Enforcement authorities are more and more stringent on this specific issue and multiply the controls. EquiTox have successfully built numerous SCC intermediate dossiers and supported their clients during SCC targeted audits.
5- Evaluation: follow up and compliance
Which follow-up implement in your company?
Highly skilled in the evaluation processes, EquiTox can support you in the implementation of a follow up and an alert system to anticipate the different evaluation processes (testing proposals, compliance checks, CoRAP), to get you organised and be ready to anticipate the impacts of the decision.
Answer to the decision and compliance
No matter the subject of the decision, a testing proposal, a compliance check or a substance evaluation, EquiTox can help you in answering and ensuring the compliance by using all the necessary arguments and expertise to reduce the relative costs (notably by our knowledge of the RAAF – Read Across Assessment Framework).
6- Authorisation – support during the different steps of the process
Substance of Very High Concern identification (SVHC)
The identification of a very high concern substance leads to a plublic consultation. EquiTox helps you to anticipate this consultation, by regularly checking the Register of Intentions. The consultation only lasts 45 days, then it is recommended to prepare before.
Update of the candidate list (SVHC)
If you are a manufacturer/importer or if you provide articles, EquiTox supports you in complying with your obligations of notification to the Agency or with communication to your customers.
Prioritisation by ECHA and annex XIV publication
With its partners, EquiTox can help to build strategies: which are the uses? are you really subject to authorisation? if so, which strategy to adopt: substitution or authorisation request? Individual or grouped submissions? For downstream users, check that your supplier supports your use and otherwise assesses your interest in providing your own application.
Authorisation application – Chemical safety report
EquiTox builds with you the chemical safety report of the authorisation application. In that perspective, EquiTox

  • maps all the uses and the exposure steps
  • helps you in implementing monitoring campaigns
  • builds specific scenarios for health and environment
  • characterises the exposure and the risks for the uses of the application
  • supports you in the communication with the ECHA’s experts of the risk assessment committee
When authorisation is granted
When authorisation is granted to a supplier, downstream users have obligations: notification to ECHA of the first delivery (within 3 months), fulfillment of the authorisation conditions. We support you in these processes and when needed, we propose the necessary measures to ensure the compliance.
7- With our partners
Legal assistance
We introduce you to law firms familiar with the REACh regulation and capable of providing you with specific advice.
Management of your consortia and SIEFs
Our partners help you determine the rules governing consortia and SIEFs, coordinate these entities and manage long-term financial relations between consortium and SIEF members.
Socio-economic analyses and alternatives
Concerning the analyses of the possible alternatives and the socio-economic part of the authorisation application, we collaborate with partners highly skilled in these issues.
8- Case studies
Withdrawal of a draft decision from ECHA concerning a testing proposal
One of our biggest successes was the withdrawal of a draft decision from ECHA concerning a testing proposal. Working within the tight deadline and in coordination with the client (Lead Registrant), we were able to bring the SIEF members together and define a pertinent strategy arguing for the waiver of the required tests. Then we setup a meeting with ECHA’s representatives. Following this, we provided a written and a unanimously agreed response. The outcome was an update of the registration dossier and the approval from ECHA not to perform the requested tests.
REACH registration dossier: when the clock is ticking and the expertise in toxicology is lacking
In preparation of a REACH registration deadline, an SME specialised in organic chemistry for the cosmetics and the food markets launched sub-acute toxicological tests with the advice of a CRO. However, due to a lack of in-house expertise in toxicology, the study design wasn’t appropriate for the chemical specificity of the test substance. As a consequence, the study had to be stopped because of several major deficiencies.

EQUITOX was contacted at that time. The requirements were clear: to produce a registration dossier without missing data, that would pass the technical completeness check and was scientifically robust. All of this needed to be done in a short period of time. The strategy we developed was based on the physico-chemical properties of the substance (hydrolysis) and a read-across approach with well-known degradation products. We then completed with a weight-of-evidence using some information from the abandoned sub-acute toxicological study.

We submitted, on-time, a reliable and valid registration dossier.

Non-Testing Methods (QSARs, Read-Across): When a Trap Becomes Chance
Non-testing methods, such as structural alert profiling, QSARs, read-across, can provide valuable information for regulatory purposes (REACH, Cosmetics, Biocide…) at a reasonable price and with limited resources. However, the way new data is generated and reported must be based on two pillars: good science and a well detailed/documented report.

Indeed, a lot of IT-tools and experimental data are available. However, when making a prediction or an extrapolation, one must go back to the basics: a well-defined endpoint, a robust dataset, an understandable relationship between the data source and the newly generated value/parameter. It takes shape in the assessment of the applicability domain for a QSAR prediction or the adequacy of a database for a read-across (analogy, category approach). Once a reliable value is generated, the second main task is to report it in order to pass the evaluation by Regulatory Bodies. For this purpose, official templates are available meeting the OECD/ECHA principles (QPRF, Read-Across Assessment Framework – RAAF). Thanks to their dual skills (scientific and regulatory), experts from EQUITOX drive the scientific assessment of the data source, the relevance of the prediction/extrapolation and the reporting in a formal way. EQUITOX applies this approach to comply with the REACH registration requirements, especially QSARs for the Annex VII tonnage band (1-10 tons), the read-across justification for any tonnage band. In addition, non-testing methods are used for projects related to the Cosmetics regulation.

Intermediate SCC and extended-SDS: a Link Between Regulatory Dossiers and Real-Life.
One main goal of REACH is to protect workers and the environment from chemical hazards. Two concrete applications of this principle are the assessment of the compliance to the Strictly Controlled Conditions for intermediates (SCC – REACH art. 17(4) and 18(4)) and to the exposure scenarios (ES) summarised in the extended Safety Data Sheets (e-SDS) from suppliers. These compliance checks concern both manufacturers of chemicals and downstream users.

The main difficulty in this type of project is to allow two different worlds to work together, the regulatory experts and the on-site operators (usually the HSE department). EQUITOX benefits from its strong experience in both worlds to support the deployment of these projects in industrial plants.

In a project where 7 intermediates were audited, the compliance with the SCC was demonstrated for 4 chemicals. Therefore, EQUITOX prepared the simplified REACH registration dossiers, and provided the Plant Manager with the relevant documentation. This set of proof justifies the regulatory decision in the case of a control by Local Authorities. In the same way, EQUITOX trained and deployed an efficient methodology to comply with the duties related to the e-SDSs for raw materials (prioritisation, ES conformity, DU CSR, exemption…).

For more information

Keywords: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

REACh

En vigueur depuis 2007, ce règlement européen contraint l'industrie à repenser toutes les pratiques liées à la fabrication, l'importation et à l'utilisation des substances chimiques. De l'approvisionnement en matières premières à la relation avec les compétiteurs, de la production de données sur les propriétés intrinsèques à leur diffusion au grand public : ces nouvelles règles exigent de nouvelles stratégies commerciales, de nouveaux comportements et de nouvelles responsabilités.

Avec plus de 100 dossiers d’enregistrement à notre actif, EquiTox vous propose ses compétences pour :

1- Identification des contraintes
Analyse du portefeuille et des flux de produits chimiques
Sur base de l’inventaire des substances, des relevés de tonnage et des flux achat/vente, un diagnostic des contraintes REACh sera proposé.
Définition de la stratégie d’enregistrement
Pour conduire votre substance à l’enregistrement, nous vous informons sur les délais à respecter, le contexte concurrentiel (SIEF) et sur les coûts possibles vous incombant.
Statut réglementaire de votre Entité Légale
Nous vous aidons à trouver le rôle approprié à votre situation et à votre stratégie de développement et de sourcing (Lead-registrant, Follower, Only-representative, Third party representative…).
 2- Réalisation des dossiers techniques
Recherche et analyse des données existantes
L’utilisation de données existantes réduit les coûts et les délais. Nous recherchons ce qui est disponible et l’analysons pour vous avec un regard scientifique, réglementaire et commercial.
Etablissement de la stratégie d’enregistrement
Avec pour objectif l’enregistrement de votre substance et la minimisation des coûts, nous établissons un programme de tests et une feuille de route pour la réalisation du dossier d’enregistrement.
Génération des données manquantes
Nous sélectionnons pour vous les études à réaliser chez les laboratoires ayant le meilleur rapport qualité/prix. Nous suivons pas-à-pas leur réalisation et nous vous informons dès la connaissance de résultats clés pour la réalisation du dossier d’enregistrement.
Réalisation du dossier technique (IUCLID)
Nous constituons le dossier technique avec votre collaboration jusqu’à l’acceptation suite au Technical Completeness Check (TCC).
Rédaction du Rapport de Sécurité Chimique (CSR)
Nous vous aidons à identifier les usages de votre substance, nous réalisons les évaluations du risque santé et environnement, nous vous aidons à définir les mesures de gestion du risque (RMM) et les conditions opératoires alliant réalisme opérationnel et protection des travailleurs et de l’environnement. Nous rédigeons le Chemical Safety Report (CSR) devant être inclus dans le dossier d’enregistrement.
3- Gestion administrative du processus d’enregistrement
Représentation au sein des SIEF
EquiTox vous conseille dans vos relations avec les compétiteurs et peut officier en tant que Tiers Représentant vous offrant de la discrétion dans le positionnement marché de vos produits.
Gestion de votre compte REACh-IT
Nous réalisons en votre nom toutes les opérations devant être effectuées via l’interface REACh-IT, nous assurons un suivi des échanges ayant cours au sein de vos SIEF et nous assurons un reporting régulier des évènements relatifs à vos substances.
Que faire après le 31 mai 2018 ?
Il est important de poursuivre la coopération au sein des SIEF pour répondre de manière concertée aux demandes de l’ECHA. La coopération entre membres est indispensable dans le cas d’une évaluation. Attention néanmoins à la durée stipulée dans les accords, il peut être nécessaire de les renouveler.
4- Nécessité de mise à jour de vos dossiers

Après l’échéance du 31 mai 2018, la page REACH est loin d’être tournée; Il s’agit en fait d’un nouveau cycle qui se met en place, avec notamment un renforcement des controles à partir de janvier 2019, ayant pour objectif la mise à jour des dossiers par les déclarants (selon Art. 22 du règlement).

Pourquoi mettre à jour vos dossiers ?
N’oubliez pas d’être proactif pour la mise à jour de vos dossiers, car si une décision de non-complétude vous est adressée par l’ECHA, vous serez tenu de vous y conformer même si le statut de votre substance a changé (cessation d’activité, diminution de volumes, enregistrement complet vs intermédiaire SCC…).
Identification des points clés à mettre à jour
Les autorités européennes sont particulièrement attentives à la conformité des dossiers, notamment sur le statut intermédaire strictement contrôlé, les exemptions de tests, les justifications des read-across… . Nous identifions au sein de vos enregistrements les points susceptibles de non-conformité pour une mise à jour efficace de vos dossiers et ainsi éviter qu’ils ne soient soumis à des décisions de l’ECHA.
Comment éviter l’évaluation de vos substances ?
L’ECHA procède regulièrement à une priorisation des substances devant faire l’objet d’une evaluation (CoRAP). Nous vous accompagnons dans l’identification proactive dans votre portefeuille de ces substances en croisant les données de dangers ciblées, les volumes, les usages. La mise à jour de vos dossiers avec des données plus pertinentes peut vous éviter une priorisation de vos substances.
Gestion des différentes problématiques d’identification de substances
L’identification de la substance est au cœur des préoccupations de l’ECHA. Si vous avez déclaré une substance UVCB , si vous avez omis des impuretés, ou fourni des preuves insuffisantes quant à la « sameness » du SIEF, ou encore si vous avez inclu différents profils de dangers dans un seul dossier, alors il est probable que l’ECHA revienne vers vous avec des questions. EquiTox a construit de nombreux dossiers d’inquiry d’UVCB avec succès et peut mettre cette expérience à votre service depuis la discussion sur les analyses appropriées jusqu’à la rédaction de la composition dans IUCLID.
Vérification du statut strictement controlé (SCC) de vos intermédiaires
Vous avez bénéficié d’un enregistrement réduit en déclarant le contrôle strict de vos intermédiaires. Les autorités de contrôle sont de plus en plus vigilantes à cette problématique et les inspections se multiplient. EquiTox a élaboré avec succès de nombreux dossiers intermédiaires SCC et a assisté ses clients lors d’audits ciblés sur cette thématique.
5- Evaluation: suivi et mise en conformité
Quel suivi mettre en place dans votre entreprise ?
De par sa maîtrise des processus d’évaluation, EquiTox vous accompagne dans la mise en place d’un suivi et d’un système d’alerte pour anticiper les différents processus d’évaluation (proposition de test, conformité, CoRAP) et à vous organiser, à anticiper les impacts de la décision.
Réponse à la décision et mise en conformité
Que la décision concerne une proposition de tests, un contrôle de conformité (CCH), ou une évaluation de substances, EquiTox vous assiste dans les réponses et la mise en conformité en déployant tous les arguments et son expertise pour minimiser les coûts consécutifs (notamment par notre connaissance du RAAF read Across Assessment Framework).
6- Autorisation – acompagnement lors des différentes étapes du processus
L’identification de substances extrêmement préoccupantes (SVHC)
L’identification de substances extrêmement préoccupantes (SVHC) donne lieu à une consultation publique de l’ECHA. EquiTox vous aide à anticiper cette consultation en vérifiant régulièrement le registre d’intentions. La consultation ne dure que 45j, aussi est-il recommandé de s’y préparer avant.
La mise à jour de la liste candidate (SVHC)
Que vous soyez producteur/importateur et/ou fournisseur d’articles, EquiTox vous accompagne dans votre conformité aux obligations de notification à l’Agence ou de communication à vos clients.
Priorisation par l’ECHA et publication de l’annexe XIV
En collaboration avec ses partenaires, EquiTox vous aide dans l’élaboration de vos stratégies : compte-tenu de vos usages, êtes-vous réellement soumis à cette autorisation ? Si oui, quelle stratégie : substitution ou demande d’autorisation ? Soumission individuelle ou groupée ? Pour les utilisateurs en aval, vérifiez que votre fournisseur défend votre usage. Et dans le cas contraire évaluez l’intérêt de déposer votre propre demande.
Dossier autorisation – rapport de sécurité chimique
EquiTox élabore avec vous le rapport de sécurité chimique du dossier d’autorisation. Pour cela, EquiTox:

  • réalise une cartographie exhaustive des usages et des phases exposantes;
  • vous aide à mettre en place le cas échéant une campagne de monitoring;
  • construit des scenarios d’exposition santé/environnement spécifiques;
  • détermine l’exposition et les risques des usages couverts par la demande d’autorisation;
  • vous accompagne dans la défense du dossier lors des échanges avec les experts du Comité de l’Evaluation du Risque de l’ECHA.
Une fois l’autorisation octroyée
Une fois l’autorisation octroyée à un fournisseur, des obligations s’imposent aux utilisateurs en aval de la substance : la notification à l’ECHA suite à la première livraison (délai 3 mois), le respect des conditions de l’autorisation. Nous vous accompagnons dans ces démarches et si besoin nous vous proposons des mesures de mise en conformité.
7- Avec nos partenaires
Assistance juridique
Nous vous mettons en relation avec des cabinets d’avocats maîtrisant le règlement REACh et à même de vous conseiller de manière spécifique.
Gestion de vos consortia et des SIEF
Nos partenaires vous permettent d’établir les règles de fonctionnement de consortia et de SIEF, en assurent la coordination et gèrent sur le long terme les relations financières entre les membres des consortia et des SIEF.
Analyses socio-économiques et des alternatives
Pour l’analyse des alternatives, et la partie socio-économique des dossiers d’autorisation nous collaborons avec des consultants partenaires ayant une expertise pointue dans ce domaine, Equitox se consacrant à l’élaboration du rapport de sécurité chimique.
8- Etude de cas
Retrait d’une décision de l’ECHA concernant une proposition de tests
L’un de nos plus gros succès a été le retrait d’une décision de l’ECHA concernant une proposition de tests. Dans le temps court imparti, nous avons travaillé en coordination avec le client (déclarant principal) et les membres du SIEF à définir une stratégie argumentant l’exemption des tests requis. Nous avons ensuite organisé une réunion avec les représentants de l’ECHA et fourni une réponse écrite et adoptée unanimement. Nous avons obtenu l’accord de l’ECHA de ne pas procéder aux tests et le dossier d’enregistrement a été mis à jour en conséquence.
Dossier d’enregistrement REACH : quand l’horloge tourne et que l’expertise en toxicologie manque
Dans le but de satisfaire à un enregistrement REACH, une entreprise spécialisée dans la chimie organique pour les marchés alimentaire et cosmétique avait lancé un test de toxicologie sub-aiguë. Cependant, du fait d’un manque d’expertise interne en toxicologie, le design du test n’avait pas été configuré pour tenir compte des spécificités chimiques de la molécule et le test a dû être arrêté du fait de déficiences majeures.

EQUITOX a alors été contacté. La demande était claire : produire un dossier d’enregistrement complet, passant l’étape de vérification de la complétude et scientifiquement robuste. Le délai restant était court. La stratégie développée a été construite sur les propriétés physico-chimiques de la substance (hydrolyse) et sur des analogies avec des produits de dégradation connus. Une approche poids de la preuve a ainsi été défendue en y intégrant des éléments de l’étude abandonnée. Un dossier robuste et valide a pu être soumis dans les temps.

Les méthodes non expérimentales (QSAR et analogies) : quand le piège devient une opportunité
Les méthodes alternatives non expérimentales, comme le profilage d’alertes structurales, les relations structures activités (QSAR), les analogies, peuvent fournir des informations utilisables à des fins réglementaires à moindre coût et avec des ressources limitées. Cependant, la façon dont ces données doivent être générées et reportées doit reposer sur deux piliers : des fondements scientifiques rigoureux et un rapport détaillé et documenté des données utilisées.

Les outils informatiques et les données expérimentales sont nombreux, mais quand on fait une prédiction ou une extrapolation on doit retourner aux fondamentaux : un paramètre bien défini, une base de données robuste et une relation intelligible entre la donnée source et la nouvelle donnée générée. Cela passe par l’évaluation du domaine d’applicabilité du QSAR ou de l’adéquation d’une base de données dans le cas d’une analogie (read-across ou catégorie). Une fois la donnée générée et évaluée comme étant fiable, la deuxième tâche importante est de la formaliser dans un rapport qui puisse répondre aux requis des entités réglementaires évaluatrices. Les modèles officiels satisfaisant aux principes de l’OCDE/ECHA sont utilisés à cette fin (QPRF, Read-Across Assessment Framework – RAAF).

De par leur double compétences (scientifique et réglementaire), les experts d’EQUITOX procèdent à l’évaluation de la donnée source, à l’évaluation de la pertinence de la prédiction/extrapolation et à la rédaction du rapport au format et exigences requis. EQUITOX applique cette approche pour satisfaire aux exigences d’enregistrement REACH, particulièrement pour les QSAR de l’Annexe VII (1-10 tonnes), les justifications de read-across, quelle que soit la bande de tonnage, mais aussi dans le cadre du règlement Cosmétique.

Intermédiaires Strictement Contrôlés (SCC) et les FDS étendues : un lien entre les dossiers réglementaires et le terrain
L’un des objectifs premiers de REACH est de protéger les travailleurs et l’environnement des dangers des produits chimiques. Deux applications concrètes de ce principe est la vérification de la conformité des Conditions Strictement Contrôlées des intermédiaires de synthèse (REACH art. 17(4) and 18(4)) et des scenarii d’exposition (SE) annexés à la Fiche de Données de Sécurité (FDSe) des fournisseurs. Ces vérifications de conformité concernent à la fois les producteurs et les utilisateurs en aval des produits chimiques.

La difficulté principale de ce type de projets est de faire travailler ensemble deux mondes, les experts réglementaires d’une part et les opérateurs sur site (HSE généralement) d’autre part. EQUITOX met à profit son expérience dans les deux domaines pour apporter son support au déploiement de tels projets sur les sites industriels.

Dans l’un de ces projets, EQUITOX a été amené à auditer le statut SCC de 7 intermédiaires, 4 d’entre eux étaient conformes aux requis de ce statut. EQUITOX s’est chargé du dossier d’enregistrement allégé et a fourni au directeur du site la documentation ad hoc à mettre à disposition lors d’une inspection des autorités de contrôle.

EQUTOX s’est aussi vu confier le développement et le déploiement d’une méthodologie pour respecter les obligations en lien avec les FDSe des matières premières (priorisation, vérification de conformité des SE, DU CSR, exemption…)

En savoir plus

Mots clés
, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email